16. A Bad Week for Hula Hooping

Guys…it’s not even 9:00 and I am ready for bed. Let’s be honest, I was ready for bed two hours ago. I’m trying to save face, but I don’t think it’s worth it.

I just wanted to share a quick update on hoola hooping. It’s been a bit of a rough week. Things started off ok. I did Monday through Wednesday in the morning before work, which was a good idea, since I can barely stand when I get home.

Day 11 (Jan 13): 16 minutes

Day 12 (Jan 14): 17 minutes

Day 13 (Jan 15): 18 minutes

But then, Thursday rolled around. Oh Thursday. What a rotten day. My roommate, Tyler, got up before I did and put some things in the dryer. That’s what woke me up. My bedroom is on the second floor. The laundry is in the basement. Anyway, I didn’t have time to figure out what was wrong with the dryer, so I went to work, but worried all day that I was going to need to buy a new dryer. I finally convinced myself that I was overreacting, only to come home and find that I did, indeed, need to buy a new dryer. I spent the whole night looking up electric dryers. Turns out, I have a gas dryer. Sigh. The only thing good about my night? I got to Skype with Ria. I love that lady. She just knows exactly what I need. I don’t know what I’d do without her. After skyping, I went to bed. It was 11:30. At 11:38, I remembered I needed to hoola hoop. Nope. Not gonna happen.

I was planning to start back at Day 1 of hoola hooping, but decided that, like most things, the list is a lesson in compromise. My compromise was not to be so hard on myself. So, on Friday, I combined my time for Thursday and Friday, for a grand total of 39 minutes. I also decided to add one additional day to the end of my month.

Day 15 (Jan 17): 19 minutes + 20 minutes

Well, it turns out 39 minutes was a bad idea, because I woke up Saturday with back and knee pain. I did my full hooping time, but decided I needed to compromise again. So, in the interest of me being able to walk at the end of this month, I am going to hoola hoop for as long as I’m able, and when it hurts, I’ll stop. I was only able to do 5 minutes tonight. Ugh.

Day 16 (Jan 18): 21 minutes

Day 17 (Jan 19): 5 minutes

Despite it being a bad week for hoola hooping, it was a great week for friendship. I got several reminders of how lucky I am to have the friends I do, and just how much they are willing to do for me. I am beyond blessed. I have the greatest friends in the world!

Well, the sleep is overtaking me, so I better go. But, what do you all think of my new site? Do you love it? Let me know, and don’t forget to “follow!”

One thought on “16. A Bad Week for Hula Hooping

Leave a Reply

