22. Go to a New Restaurant Every 3 Months: Da Marino

Hello. Yes, I’m still alive. I’m sorry I went MIA for a whole month. February is probably the worst month of the year for me. As far as work goes, I’m busy teaching my classes, passing out recital costumes, calling the costume companies when said costumes don’t fit (I’m pretty much on a first name basis with Weissman’s), trying desperately to choreograph my 19 recital pieces, and lastly, preparing for our big dance fundraiser, Storybook Ball. Which, by the way, is on Friday. So I’ll be retreating back into my hole after this. In my personal life, I’ve been busy working on “Fiddler on the Roof” for one of the local high schools, attempting to keep my house clean, and…well, that’s about it. I’m too tired for anything else. So clearly, February was a great month for me to decide to take a long weekend in NYC.

I have had this trip planned for months, and it was the only reason I made it through the first 2 weeks of February. Initially, my sister, Mal, and I were plotting to go see “Big Fish: The Musical” in New York for her birthday. We saw the show in Chicago last spring, and loved it, so we wanted to see it again with the original cast. Unfortunately for us, the critics didn’t love “Big Fish” as much as we did, and the show closed in December, after we’d already purchased plane tickets. So, we decided on “The Lion King,” which was an excellent choice.

We left on February 14, and flew to Philadelphia. We were supposed to take the train to Warminster, where my Aunt Pam lives, but, sometimes, trains get cancelled.

IMG_0230

Waiting for a train that would never come…

But, fear not! My aunt rescued us. After meeting up with my Aunt Sarah, eating homemade pizza and birthday eve cheesecake, we went to bed and got up early the next door to take the train into New York. (This train showed up. Woot!) We spent the day at the World Trade Center Memorial (beautiful), exploring Time Square (amazing), and taking in one of the most visually beautiful shows I’ve ever seen. Oh, and there were cupcakes too!

IMG_0249

This picture doesn’t do it justice…the entire memorial is gorgeous!

IMG_0258

IMG_0264

They mark the names with roses, if that person would have

been celebrating their birthday that day.

IMG_0318

IMG_0320

IMG_0328

IMG_0340

Leaving the Minksoff Theatre…what an amazing show!

IMG_0360

The frosting was slightly damaged during the tornado

we ran through, but they still tasted amazing!

Before the show, we had dinner at Da Marino, which is a tiny Italian restaurant in the theater district. My Aunt Pam made the reservation, and I had briefly looked at the menu online, but I tried not to make any decisions beforehand. We got to the restaurant early, but they seated us right away. Everyone on staff was incredibly friendly. We were seated in the back corner, which was really cute. The space in the the restaurant was very tight, but the atmosphere was cozy. Per Ria’s instructions, I bypassed the spaghetti carbonara, which I had deemed a “safe choice,” and went with the rigatoni buttera. Normally, I stay away from tomato sauces altogether because a) I hate tomato pieces and b) I’m very picky about the flavoring of tomato sauces. But, I figured I’d give it a whirl. I was NOT disappointed. It was one of the best pasta dishes I’ve ever had. The dish had rigatoni pasta, a spicy tomato sauce, and sausage. There was the perfect amount of everything in it, and it was incredibly flavorful. It was the exact amount of spicy I like. The portions were very generous, and although I thought I’d be unable to finish it, I powered through like a champ. Paired with our sweet red wine and Mal’s surprise birthday dessert, it was a wonderful dinner. I can’t speak to the price, as I never saw the receipt, but I’m guessing it wasn’t totally unreasonable for NYC. If/when I go back to the city again, I’d love to eat here again! Bonus: it was only a few blocks from “The Lion King!”

IMG_0291

IMG_0289

IMG_0270

IMG_0271

Fresh bread and lentils…I’d never had them before. Not bad.

IMG_0272

IMG_0274

Aunt Pam and Aunt Sarah

IMG_0275

Me and the birthday girl!

IMG_0276

Birthday wine!

IMG_0278

Pam’s meal…some sort of mushroom ravioli

IMG_0279

Sarah’s chicken marsala

IMG_0280

Sarah’s pasta

IMG_0281

My rigatoni buttera (Mal got the same thing!)

IMG_0282

So much goodness.

IMG_0283

No shame.

IMG_0285

Birthday tiramisu

Well, there you go! Another new restaurant experience. I really wish we had good Italian food like that here. Well…we probably do. I just need to find it. 🙂 I’m off to bed. I hope you enjoyed hearing about my NYC experience as much as I enjoyed adventuring. Stay tuned for more list excitement!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

