4. Pamper Day 2.0

Hi friends! Long time, no talk. (But really…it’s me. Are you surprised?) I hope you are ready, because I have so many great things to share with you all! I hate suspense, so I’m just going to jump right in. Great thing #1: my birthday is in two days. The big 2-7. I am mildly terrified, mostly because 27 seems so much older than 26. But, I love celebrating my birthday, and 27 isn’t that old, right? (Sidenote: can you believe that “the list” originated almost 2 years ago? Neither can I!)

Great thing #2: I am on day 3 of a five day stay-cation. We are on Spring Break from dance class this week, so I took a few vacation days and am spending them at home. Honestly, I can’t think of anything better right now than being at home with no agenda, no mandatory to-do list, and no schedule of any kind. It’s been really great and exactly what I’ve needed. I think I mentioned recently that this winter has really taken a toll on me. I’ve been grumpy, stressed, sleepy, grumpy, hungry, grumpy…I could go on. Anyway, with the weather beginning to improve last week combined with my break from work, I am on cloud nine. Also, I had company this weekend, but I’ll get to that.

Great thing #3: do you remember my New Year’s resolution to read more? Well, I’m doing it! I FINALLY got myself a library card and finished my first book of 2014: The Giver. Unlike everyone else I know, I didn’t read this book in school, and wanted to see what all the fuss was about. I wasn’t disappointed. (Although, I did find myself throwing the book across my bed when I finished reading at 1 in the morning…but I loved it nonetheless.) Book #2 is actually a re-read of Divergent, which I read over two years ago. I decided I needed to refresh my memory before I dive into Insurgent and*maybe* go see the movie. I am hoping to do a lot more reading this summer, when my schedule slows down a bit. What are you currently reading? Any suggestions for me?

Great thing #4: speaking of books, I’ve been giving some thought as to what my book will be and I think I’ve got it figured out. Stay tuned for some big news soon!

Great thing #5: after a winter of feeling crappy 90% of the time, I decided I needed to do something about it. I’ve been working really hard the past two weeks on positive thought and perception, and focusing on the great parts of my day, rather than the not-so-great parts. I am holding myself accountable on this great website that Tyler showed me. It’s called 100 Happy Days and challenges you to find the happiness in your day for 100 consecutive days. I know, it sounds easy, but 100 days is a long time! I will be documenting my 100 happy days on Instagram, if you’d like to stay in the loop. You can find me under “stephdelacy.” I’m on day 3, and so far, so good!

Day 3 of my 100 Happy Days project...blogging, coffee, and my girls

Day 3 of my 100 Happy Days project…blogging, coffee, and my girls

So, this weekend I had my 2nd official pamper day…or really, pamper weekend. As a refresher, Ria challenged me to learn how to care for myself and give myself a pamper day every six months. Originally, I had intended for my pamper day to be tomorrow, because what better way to prepare for your birthday? I had thought about getting a massage and a pedicure, but the idea of spending that much money on something that would last 2 hours stressed me out, so I decided to just do a lazy day in, with movies, wine, and a walk, weather permitting. It sounded nice and I thought it would be exactly what I needed.

As I mentioned above, I had company this weekend! Two of my closest friends, Emily and Megan, came to visit. Emily came down on Friday afternoon. We had dinner with one of our former professors-turned-friend, Cory, and our friend, Jess. I haven’t laughed so much in a long time. The food was great, and the friendship time was wonderful. Afterwards, Jess, Emily and I came back to my house, and had girl talk on the couch for two hours. I just now realized I took no pictures that night, and I should have. It was an amazing kick-off to Spring Break, and a great way to start the pampering.

Saturday was the actual “pamper day.” I never actually decided that it would be Saturday; it just kinda happened, which is why there are no pictures from the first half of the day. Anyway, Emily and I slept in, and decided to walk to Village Inn for brunch in our pajamas. It was the first real walk I’ve taken of 2014 and it was great! The weather was decent, and it was so nice to be outside. We cut through the park by my house and walked past St. Ambrose, where we went to college. We had a great brunch, and stopped by the Java Station on our way home for coffee. When we got back, we spent the next four hours camped out on the couch, watching “Once Upon a Time,” “Despicable Me,” and that new show on ABC called “Resurrection,” which I highly recommend! Megan showed up shortly after that, and, after getting ready, we drove downtown for dinner. I am a giant idiot, and forgot that it was St. Paddy’s weekend, and everyone downtown would be trashed, so we ended up driving across the river and had dinner at a little place called “Pagalo’s Pizzeria and Gelato Cafe.” I went there a year ago with Bryan and loved it, but haven’t been back since.

IMG_0465

Emily and Megan...I love these two!

Emily and Megan…I love these two!

The best effing breadsticks on the planet. I kid you not.

The best effing breadsticks on the planet. I kid you not.

Megan's Hawaiian pizza

Megan’s Hawaiian pizza

IMG_0472

My barbecue chicken pizza

My barbecue chicken pizza

Emily's spinach alfredo pizza

Emily’s spinach alfredo pizza

IMG_0476

Me and my girls

Me and my girls

So, dinner was amazing. We decided to head back across the river and go to Target to finish off the night. I pulled up directions on my new iPhone, that I still don’t quite know how to use, and we headed on our way. I still don’t know how this happened, but Siri sent us forty minutes out of our way. It took us an hour to get to Target. It should have taken us fifteen minutes, tops. I’m not kidding. I wish I was.

Siri is a liar.

Siri is a liar.

Anyway, we eventually made it to Target, where I went crazy and bought a bunch of new clothes. To be fair, I needed some new shirts and everything was on sale…and, it WAS pamper weekend. We finished our night by stopping at Whitey’s for ice cream, and watched “Modern Family.”

New clothes for days...

New clothes for days…

...And some new candle holders. Because who doesn't need candle holders?

…And some new candle holders. Because who doesn’t need candle holders?

Yesterday, we had a low-key brunch at Panera, did a little more shopping, and Emily and Megan went home. It was honestly the best weekend I’ve had in a long time. No stress, no responsibility, and nowhere to be. If only all weekends could be like that. 🙂

Well, I suppose it’s about time for me to wrap this up and continue with my day of laying on the couch. As I mentioned, stay tuned for some big book news soon! And don’t forget to follow and share my blog.

xoxo

Leave a Reply

