27. Let It Go

How fitting is it that I crossed #27 off my list on my 27th birthday?! I swear; that wasn’t even planned! Yes friends, today is my 27th birthday and it has been amazing. How is it that every birthday gets better? I have had so much love showered on me today; it has been unreal. The cards, the messages, pictures, TWO BOUQUETS OF FLOWERS, the unnecessary gifts…I am so blessed. I really do have the most amazing family and friends. Wow.

Well, before I get all teary, let me cut to the chase. I wanted to cross something off my list today, because, why not?! Weather and planning time limited my choices, so I went with “let it go.” Now, when I first got my list, I had no idea what that meant. Ria said it could be whatever I wanted it to be. And, two days ago, it clicked. I think it’d be more effective to show you rather than tell you, so…here it goes:

Image

Me at noon today

Image

My beautiful stylist, Jessica

Image

And…

Image

Surprise!

Yes. I let go of my hair. It’s something I’ve been thinking about for a long time (I first brought it up to Jessica in August) but I kept chickening out. After the last few months, I decided I need to start doing what makes me happy and stop thinking about what everyone else says/does/thinks. While I am fully prepared for some asshole comments, I think I am ready to take them head on. I love my new hair. It feels great and is 6-7 inches lighter than it used to be. And, I feel beautiful, and that’s really all that matters, right?

So, there you go! Also, today is the two year anniversary of the original list! Ahhh! Thank you to those of you who have been here from the beginning, and to those of you who have joined me along the way. I appreciate your constant love, support, and encouragement. Now, I gotta go, before I’m late for my own birthday dinner. 🙂

xoxo

4 thoughts on “27. Let It Go

  1. It is TRES chic. You’d look lovely no matter what type of hair you had, though 🙂 Love it love it love it.

    P.S. I enjoy the nod to Frozen in your blog title today!

    Like

  2. Pingback: sporty spice. | pleatsandpearls

Leave a Reply

