5. On April 19th, every year- go outside and try counting the stars. It will put a lot of things in perspective.

I am overwhelmed by this day. (Also, hi.) I’m overwhelmed. We’ve officially reached the final stretch of the dance year. The part of the year when I have very little control over anything. It’s a waiting game; waiting for my students to remember their choreography, waiting for them to apply corrections, waiting for my set pieces to be finished… I’m not a patient person. I don’t like waiting. I know everything is going to come together in the end. It always does. I’m always happy and so impressed with my dancers. But right now? I’m forced to be patient. And so, today, in a nutshell, sucked. Also, I’ve killed three spiders and a silverfish since I got home a little over an hour ago. And I ran out of monster cookie ice cream. Overwhelmed. In more positive news, I had a fantastic Easter weekend!  I watched the “Scandal” season finale (still trying to process…), ate copious amounts of pasta with Mal, and caught up on Grey’s and Resurrection. Friday, my parents picked us up and we drove to Minnesota to spend the weekend with my other sister, Kaylee, my grandparents, and my Aunt Sarah’s family. I ate fantastic food, played a whole lot of cards, and, most importantly, did a whole lot of nothing. Excellence.

IMG_0820

Hot chocolate on a cool Minnesota morning

IMG_0872

…I’m not above cheating when playing cards.

IMG_0838

Basketball, DeLacy-style

IMG_0848

Watching the basketball game with Mal

IMG_0898

My Aunt Sarah and I, rocking the Easter dresses

IMG_0902

My awesome family!

When I wasn’t stuffing my face with cheesecake and taking awesome selfies with my youngest cousin, Gaby, I was working on my list! For those of you that don’t have a calendar, Saturday was April 19th, meaning I had some star counting to do! I was really nervous I was going to freeze my ass off, but it was beautiful out! Well, beautiful and cloudy. Oh so cloudy. So cloudy, in fact, that when I laid down on my aunt’s driveway at 9:30pm, I couldn’t see a single star. Not. A. One. I searched for 7 or 8 minutes with no luck. I changed my angle. I stood up. I sat down. I looked east. I looked west. I looked at every spot in the effing sky and yet, still no stars. I was pissed. I was pissed at the sky. I was pissed at the clouds. I was pissed that, the one night I needed to count stars, I had nothing to work with. Really, I think I was mostly pissed at the universe for not letting things go my way. Yeah, I know that’s selfish…I’m ok with it. At that point, I wasn’t sure what to do, so I called Ria. I figured she’d have some words of wisdom or would give me a free pass to try again on April 20th. Anyway, Ria didn’t answer so I left her a pathetic message, wished her a happy Easter, and hung up. I went to sit up when it happened. A cloud had shifted ever so slightly to reveal four tiny stars. I squealed and counted those four stars a million times. I had four stars. FOUR. STARS. I snapped a bunch of pictures, but only one turned out. I put my phone down and three more stars appeared. Seven. I got seven. Then, as quickly as they had appeared, the stars were gone. A dark, cloudy sky. But, for a brief moment, I got to see seven stars.

IMG_0873

My view from the driveway

IMG_0874

Waiting for the stars to come out…

IMG_0875

Waiting…for Dumbledore…

IMG_0878

…does this count?

IMG_0879

Partly cloudy, my ass.

IMG_0882

That tiny dot in the middle? One of my stars!

I know it may seem silly. I got 12 kinds of excited over seven little tiny stars. But, to me, it served as a reminder. A reminder that sometimes, things do go our way. And that was a reminder I really needed.

xoxo

One thought on “5. On April 19th, every year- go outside and try counting the stars. It will put a lot of things in perspective.

  1. Pingback: 5. On April 19th, every year- go outside and try counting the stars (Round 2!) | The One with the Thirty Things

Leave a Reply

