22. Go to a New Restaurant…a Quad Cities adventure!

Hey all! It’s May 4th, but you’d think from the way I’m bundled up (and perhaps the fact that I had to turn the heat back on…) that it’s January. We’re experiencing another below-average temperature day with some light rain. Normally, I don’t mind, but all the dreary weather has made me so tired. I want to lay in bed all day. So, that’s what I’m doing. I got up, made a quick coffee run, and am back in bed, armed with my laptop and season 9 of “Friends.” I mean, really, could this day BE any better?! Yes, yes it could. I also get to have dinner tonight at one of my favorite Thai places, with my friends, Jessica and Daniel. And, “Once Upon a Time” and “Resurrection” are on tonight. And, I’m trying a new cake recipe if I have time. I wish every day was like this…

Speaking of great days, this past Tuesday was excellent! I had a pretty good day at work and was interviewed for a local talk show. (If you’re in the QC, check out Paula Sands on KWQC this Wednesday at 3:00!) I also got to have lunch with Bryan before work. Normally, I don’t see my friends at all during the work week. With me teaching dance, my schedule just doesn’t match up with anyone else’s and by the time I get home after class, I’m exhausted. So, Tuesday was special. 🙂 I let Bryan pick where we ate, as his birthday was coming up, and he chose a place I’ve never been to: 100 Montaditos. I’d never even heard of this place, and when he told me it was a tapas place, I was even more excited!

IMG_1011

We got to the restaurant a little after 11:30. There weren’t too many people there when we arrived, but it really filled up closer to noon. Bryan chose a high table by the door and we settled in. On the tables were a pile of menus, notepads, and pens. Bryan, who has been there before, explained that we got to write out our order on the notepad, and then we would take it up to the counter to place our order and pay. Upon opening the menu, I was completely overwhelmed. There are 100 sandwich options to choose from. The sandwiches are about 2 1/2 to 3 inches long. They also have several appetizer, side, and dessert options. After searching the menu for several minutes for safe options, I decided to go with one of their “collections,” which include 5 specific sandwiches. Although I wasn’t sure I’d like all the sandwiches, the directions of the list were to “order something I wouldn’t normally order” so I decided to just go with it. I chose the “Meat Lover’s Collection.” (Click here to see the menu!)

IMG_1013 IMG_1014 IMG_1015

The ordering process was easy and very fast. As Tuesdays are long days for me, I decided to splurge and get a Pepsi to keep me awake. My grand total for my 5 sandwiches (which came with chips,) my drink, and a tip came to $11.00. Not bad for the amount of food I was getting. The wait for the food was a little long. Thankfully, I wasn’t in a hurry, and I had good company, so it wasn’t a big deal. Bryan said the wait time was much shorter the other times he had been there. I also got a chance to check out the atmosphere. I think these pictures say it all…

IMG_1019

The ordering counter

IMG_1018

We were right by the window!

IMG_1017

The pictures by our table. I thought these were so cool.

IMG_1016

The view from our table

When your food is ready, they call you up to the counter to come get it. My mouth was immediately watering as I looked at my plate. I knew right away that 5 sandwiches were going to be way too many, but I ended up saving my leftovers for an in-between classes snack. I got a quick picture before I started to eat…but then things got out of control.

IMG_1021

Bryan’s sammichs!

IMG_1020

My sammichs!

I started with #52, which is garlic pork loin, served with lettuce, mayo, and tomato. (I took off my tomato…ick!) I inhaled it, so didn’t get a good picture. I liked it a lot, until I tried the other sandwiches. Overall, this was probably my 3rd favorite. It was good, but a little boring. My second sandwich was #45, a chicken sandwich with green pepper, tomato (eww), and ali oli. I think I told Bryan this sandwich was “divine.” It was incredibly flavorful…I could have eaten 5 of them. I don’t know what else to say about it. My mouth is filling with saliva just thinking about it. Sandwich #3 was #29, a philly steak sandwich with cheddar cheese, crispy onion, and pequillo peppers. I had such high hopes for this one and it let me down. It was very dry. I don’t think I’ll order this sandwich again. At this point, I was entering a food coma and couldn’t comprehend how I could have possibly ordered 5 sandwiches. The restaurant was nice and warm, and I was starting to slip out of consciousness…so clearly, it was time to eat a fourth sandwich. I decided to go for #11, with is a meatball sandwich with bacon, and save the last sandwich for later. The meatball sandwich was MUCH better than the philly steak, but I wasn’t a huge fan of the marinara. I’m picky. I don’t know that I’d order this one again either. By the time I’d finished this sandwich, I really couldn’t move. I managed to waddle to the counter for a to-go box. Anything farther would have been unsuccessful…thank you, Bryan, for picking a seat close to the counter. We sat for a few minutes until we could move, and then went on our way.

IMG_1026

#11 and #47

IMG_1023

#29

IMG_1022

#45

3 hours and 4 digested sandwiches later, I decided to eat my final sandwich before classes got started. My last one was #47: BBQ pulled pork, cream cheese, bacon, and ali oli. Oh. My. Sweet. Jesus. This sandwich is THE sandwich. I almost cried while eating it. It was THAT good. Even if the other sandwiches had been a bust, this sandwich would have been the saving grace. So. Effing. Delicious.

IMG_1029

Post-lunch selfie!

I think this goes without saying, but I highly recommend “100 Montaditos.” The awesome atmosphere is unique to the QC, the food is fantastic, and in my opinion, affordable. I will definitely be eating here again, and hope you will try it out too! Been there before? Let me know what you think below!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

