A Happy Cat

IMG_2112

My family’s cat, Baby, is staying with me this week. We’ve had Baby (or Chee…which is the only thing we’ve called her in years) since I was 11. She turned 16 on the 4th of July, which means she’s been around for a lot. For me in particular, she’s seen me through middle school, high school, college, 36 plays and musicals, 16 years of dance, 3 boyfriends, 3 break-ups, getting my license, buying a house…the list goes on. I mean, how amazing is it that one cat, one tiny little calico cat that we picked out at the Humane Society when I was in the 5th grade, has seen so much in life? And that’s just my life! She watched three of us grow up. She’s lived in four different houses (although, five now, if you include mine.) She’s been there when we’ve laughed, cried, and for every bowl of ice cream we’ve set on the floor. And even though she growled at me when I tried to bring her down to the living room tonight, she is loving life and a very happy cat.

So, why am I telling you this? Why is this what I’m starting with after 2 months away from my blog? Because. The past few months have sucked. For lots of reasons, none of which I want to get into. But starting today, I’m living life like Chee. I’m living life like a happy cat. I’m going to enjoy the little things in life. I’m going to eat my food with gusto, and hell, if I wake up at 4am and want to eat some more, I’m going to do it. I’m going to enjoy my naps rather than feel guilty about them. I’m going to play when I want, and stop when I don’t. I’m not going to take shit from anyone, because I am a nice, good person and don’t deserve that. I’m going to take care of me, and love hard, and be happy. Because that’s what Chee would do, and I’m taking my cues from a happy cat.

Welcome to the next stage of my life. The next step of the adventure. Welcome back to my Thirty Things.

Leave a Reply

