9. Use a Drill

Single friends! Have you ever been painfully aware of just how single you are? I’m not dating right now (I’m not really looking) but tonight, as I was pulling my hair out of my shower drain, after paying bills, making dinner, hanging laundry, taking out the garbage, and grocery shopping, I realized that I am very single…and very ok with it. Except for the hair in the drain part. Gross.

I used a drill. For the very first time! Well, that’s not entirely true…we have a new-ish exhibit at work called the “Think Shop.” It’s a fully functional workshop with 18 stations, real tools, and the opportunity for kids to get to build and create with their families. It’s pretty cool. Anyway, we have some hand-crank drills, which I’ve used a billion times, but last week was the first time I got to use a  power drill. 

Let’s flashback to May 2012. I’m moving into my house, getting settled, and I noticed that one of the mini-blinds in my kitchen has a broken…slat? Is that what you call it? I have no idea. Anyway, one of the…slats…was being held together by a piece of Scotch tape. The tape was doing a good job, and mini-blinds were the least of my problems at that point. (Remember toe nail clippings in drawers? And bugs? Scary bugs?) So, I left it where it was. Fast forward to a few months ago, and the tape finally rips. I attempted to repair it with more Scotch tape. No such luck. Apparently, the previous owners of my house had a special magic tape, which I did not have, so I opted to just throw away the part of the slat that had broken off and live with it. Last week, I looked at the blinds, looked at myself, and decided I could live like this no longer. It was time to replace the mini-blinds. Now, of course, Wal-Mart didn’t have the size I needed, so I drove to the new Menard’s. (Side note: that place is a palace! I could literally set up a cot in the back and live there and no one would ever know!!!) I found my blinds, got them cut to size, and went home to install them. I was so excited about the new blinds that I took the old ones down and immediately threw them away. It was then that I took the new mini-blinds out of the box and realized that they were completely different from what I previously had and that I’d have to install a whole new…thing…to keep them up. A blind fixture? A blind-hanging apparatus? Hell if I know. I looked at the directions and saw I needed a drill, which I don’t own. I knew my friend, Elizabeth, would be coming over later in the week for dinner, so I asked her to bring her drill. I figured this would be a fun “girls’ night” project. And it was…kind of. I did sweat a lot…

IMG_2390

My blindless kitchen window

IMG_2391

The new blinds, ready to go!

IMG_2394

Elizabeth drilled the first hole to show me how it’s done

IMG_2396

…I was shaking. And sweating. You know, because drilling is stressful

IMG_2397

Drilling like a pro

IMG_2398

…that’s about right.

IMG_2401

My beautiful, finished blinds!!!

So, I’m basically amazing with a drill now. Feel free to hire me for all your drilling needs. On an unrelated note, guess who I get to see in exactly TWO WEEKS?! That’s right; the lovely lady who is the mastermind behind the list, Ria! I haven’t seen her in over 2 1/2 years, so I could not be more excited! Yay!

xoxo

2 thoughts on “9. Use a Drill

Leave a Reply

