The One with the First Year

Happy anniversary to me! Today marks one year since receiving the second list. My 30 before 30. I honestly can’t believe it’s been a whole year…probably because I never blog and I’ve barely crossed anything off my list! But I’ll get to that… The year started on September 19, 2013, which was 6 months to the day since my 26th birthday. Ria had been promising me my list for awhile at that point, but on that day, it finally arrived. I remember reading through it for the first time and thinking, oh shit. She didn’t exactly make it easy on me. If you need a refresher course on the list, check it out here. There wasn’t a single thing on the list that I could do on a whim. Everything was going to require thought, and a good chunk of time. Wait. Make that a GREAT chunk of time. Fast forward to 4 weeks ago. I was in Chicago, seeing Ria for the first time in 2 and a half years. The first time since the list originated.

1924362_797655650284_6553945741356209071_n

It was as though no time had passed. We did all of “our” things, talked about everything under the sun, hugged more times than I can possibly count…it was an amazing, amazing time. And then Ria asked how the list was going. Uh…terribly. I suck at this list. That’s how it’s going. I suck, I suck, I suck. I’ve barely crossed anything off, I haven’t even thought about some of these things, and I write maybe every 6 weeks. I suck. Except here’s the thing. As we were talking about the list and what I have left, I realized something…I don’t suck. I’m actually kinda kicking this list’s ass.

What I’ve Crossed Off

2. Make a list of 5 things I learned as a kid that I would like to teach my kids

9. Use a drill

16. Hula hoop daily, for one month straight.

27. Let it go. (The hair!!!)

What I Can’t Cross Off, But Have Been Doing Faithfully

4. Learn how to care for myself. Give myself a pamper day once every 6 months. (I’m actually due for one this month!)
5. On April 19th, every year, go outside and try counting the stars.

22. Go to a new restaurant every 3 months. Order something I wouldn’t normally order and write a review on it. (Also due for this one this month…who wants to go eat some food?)

What’s In the Works

15. Do something that scares me-something physical.

19. Write a book. (My hope is to be able to write a cookbook before I turn 35. I’m starting with a cooking blog! If you haven’t visited “Table for One” yet, check it out here!)

What I’m Doing Tomorrow

28. Once a year, go to an open space and scream as loud as I can.(Yes, I know, I’m a day late…but it’s my list and I’ll do what I want!!!)

Ok, that’s a third of my list! And, I still have 2 1/2 years left! So, as terribly as I thought I was doing, I’m really not. I’m going to try to be more optimistic about my progress from now on. 🙂 I also promise to get better at this blogging thing.

Before I go, a few quick updates…

*School has started again and…I’m teaching preschool again! I missed my little kiddos so much, and am so happy to be back in the classroom.

*We hired another dance teacher! After all my back pain last year, I was totally on board with us hiring someone to take over the hip hop program. As much as I love it, I love having earlier nights and less back pain even more.

*When I’m not working or trying out new blog recipes, I’m either sleeping, snuggling kitties, or watching “How I Met Your Mother,” which I just started last week. And I’m already halfway through season 2. Oops.

Until next time,

xoxo

Leave a Reply

