22. Go to a new restaurant every 3 months: Theo’s Java Club

I think I have a case of writer’s block today. I’ve started and deleted this post three times already. Don’t worry; you didn’t miss anything. (Christmas is 10 weeks away, I saw “Gone Girl” last night.) That doesn’t bode well, considering I planned to write 2 more posts today. And the “today” I’m talking about? That was two weeks ago. I started my post and, after countless failed attempts, I forgot about it until now. So yeah, I’d say it was a pretty serious case.

So…how are you? I feel like it’s been awhile! I keep saying that I’m going to get better about this blogging thing, but then life gets in the way. Sigh. Anywho, things here are going well! Work is busy, but good busy. My cooking blog is really taking off! If you haven’t already, you should check it out! Other than that, I’m just spending my time trying to keep my house clean (the never ending battle), catching up on my reading, and sleeping when I can. It’s a boring life, but someone’s gotta do it! (And honestly, I’m very much ok with boring at the moment.)

I decided to do something a little differently with my restaurant this time around. I felt I really needed to push myself, so I chose one of the things I am most picky about: coffee. I’m not necessarily picky about where I get my coffee (which was Kwik Star, for my high school years), but I am picky about what I get. Some coffee just doesn’t sit with me, some tastes like crap, and some just costs way more than I would ever be willing to pay. I usually play it safe and stick to Starbucks pumpkin chais and Coffee Hound caramel frappes. But, a few weeks ago, I was feeling adventurous, so a new place it was. Since Bryan has come on nearly all my new restaurant excursions, I invited him along and asked him to pick where we went. He gave me three choices, which we eventually narrowed down to a place called “Cup A Jo” in Moline. Now…here’s the thing about Bryan and I. We get coffee and meals together a lot. A lot, a lot. I probably eat more meals with Bryan than I do at my dining room table. But, we never actually check to see if a place is open before we get there. So, when we rolled up to “Cup A Jo,” we were sadly disappointed.

IMG_2894

Ignore the “Open” sign…it was a lie.

So, we drove a few blocks over to our second choice, a little place called “Dead Poet’s”…closed.

IMG_2895 IMG_2897

So, we drove to Rock Island for our third option. (Without checking our phones first, to see if they were open. Clearly, we never learn.) The third place was called “Theo’s Java Club” and thankfully, they were open. They are located a few blocks from my favorite martini bar.

IMG_2898

This place might be my new favorite place. It’s small and very quiet. There were a few people there when we arrived, but everyone was minding their own business. It doesn’t have the bustle of a Starbucks, which was nice for a Saturday afternoon. Their menu was written on a chalkboard on the wall. (They also serve breakfast and lunch, so I’ll definitely have to go back!) As I scanned the menu, nothing jumped out at me as something I wouldn’t order. I thought we were going to have to find a fourth place to go on technicality, but then Bryan pointed out the special for the day. Strawberry Pretzel Latte. Now, for those of you who don’t know me well, I hate strawberries. If I become president one day, they’ll be outlawed with celery and whole tomatoes. So, a strawberry pretzel latte was not just something I wouldn’t normally order…it was something I would never order. So, I ordered it, iced with 2% milk. I immediately regretted my $5 decision. Bryan ordered what I did, so we waited for our drinks, then found a booth.

IMG_2901 IMG_2902

The decor by our table and my handsome date!

The moment of truth had arrived. I braced myself, took a sip of my latte…and fell in love. Have you ever had that Strawberry Pretzel Salad? It’s got a pretzel crust, a layer of cream cheese, and then strawberries in Jello. The latte tasted EXACTLY like that! It was so good that I wanted to get a second one, and that NEVER happens!!! Not even at Starbucks.

IMG_2900

Overall, I’d say my Theo’s experience was excellent. I liked the vibe, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and my coffee was THE BOMB! It kills me to spend $5 on coffee, but I guess that’s becoming the norm. I’ll definitely go back to Theo’s and I highly recommend it to anyone in the QC!

Well, I’m off to clean my house and rake some leaves…but stay tuned! I’ll have a new post up tomorrow…yes, TOMORROW!

Until then,

xoxo

Leave a Reply

