4. Pamper Day 3: Chillin Like a Villain

I hate voting season. HATE. IT. I am tired of negative ads. I’m tired of getting excited about a giant stack of mail, only to find that all of it is political. I’m tired of thinking the knock at my front door belongs to Joseph Gordon-Levitt, only to find an old man outside, wanting to know if I’ve sent in my absentee ballot. And I’m tired of getting a second knock on my door within the hour. I know voting is important; I worked for the Obama campaign as a campus liaison in 2008. I do vote, and I like knowing that I get a say in something, no matter how small my say is. But do I really need to get blasted with anti-Bruce Braley crap every five minutes? Unless it’s anti-Bruce Braley crap plus puppies and ice cream, I think no. And that’s all I have to say about that.

So, it’s Pamper Time again. If you’re keeping track, I’m actually about two months late on this. I was due for a good pampering at the beginning of September, and I had it all planned out. Massage, manicure, pedicure, take-out from Tantra, and a glass of wine. Bam. Best day ever. But, as you may remember, Ria was here at the beginning of September and I spent A LOT of money while she was here, and Charlee took a trip to the ER vet, so I postponed Pamper Day. My next few weekends were booked, so I settled on the second weekend of October. October 6, my fridge door fell off, and I had to pay to get it fixed. So, the third weekend of October. I got sick…then my whole family was here. Long story short, it fell to this weekend. By this point, I was stressed out about my Pamper Day and it was becoming more trouble than it was worth. So, I decided this: I could do whatever I wanted on my Pamper Day. I wasn’t going to plan it out and I wasn’t going to pick a specific day; I was just going to let it happen. I had a three day weekend, so I figured one of the days would have to work. Surely, nothing crazy could happen on all three days…and thankfully, I was right.

Friday, October 31 ended up being Pamper Day. I woke up at 10 and laid around for about 30 minutes. Stella and Charlee both joined me for snuggles. When I got up, I threw on a sweatshirt and drove to Coffee Hound. Normally, I would walk, since it’s right down the street, but it was 35 when I got out of bed, so no thank you! I got myself a caramel frappe and drank it while watching multiple episodes of “How I Met Your Mother.”

IMG_3041

Caramel frappe goodness

IMG_3059

Even the girls wanted to chill out!

After a few hours, I took a shower and ran to the store for groceries. On my way home, I stopped at Capriotti’s and got a chicken cheesesteak. Since I’ve been doing so much cooking for my blog, I decided it was important to relieve myself of cooking duties on Pamper Day. I came home, ate my fabulous lunch, and had some kitty snuggles.

IMG_3042 IMG_3043 IMG_3044

I prepped dinner in the crockpot (aka threw everything in and stirred) and then went to the movies by myself, for the first time ever! It was GREAT! I got to sit where I wanted, take up as much space as I wanted, and no one judged me when I ate all my candy in the first 30 minutes.

IMG_3045 IMG_3046

When “The Maze Runner” was over, I briefly contemplated sneaking into another theater to watch the end of “Gone Girl,” but decided I didn’t want to be creeped out on Pamper Day, so I went home. Dinner was Sweet BBQ Sloppy Joe Casserole, which I HIGHLY recommend, and more HIMYM. Afterwards, I took a bubble bath and read Cosmo, while Stella kept watch from the side of the tub. I rounded out the night with Monster Cookie Dough Dip, straight from the bowl, and caught up on “Resurrection.” It was a fantastic day!

I’m finding that my Pamper Days tend to end up on the couch, but I’m guessing that just means I need to make more time to do that on regular days. I’m trying to make it my mission to give myself more “me time” and to not plan it out…wish me luck!

As I head into November, I’m really pleased with my list progress in 2014. I’m excited to see what the next two months bring, and as always, thank you for being a part of this journey! I couldn’t do it without you!

Leave a Reply

