22. Go to a new restaurant every 3 months: Falbo Bros. Pizzeria

Happy last day of February! Can you believe that we’re already 2 months in to 2015?! I really can’t…although, I’m currently in my busiest time of year, so my life is in a bit of a time warp. I know it’s been a little bit since I last wrote, so here’s a quick update on the important stuff…

Life

It’s going well! I’ve been working really hard on my 2015 goals, and have been actively trying to improve my overall mindset, which is WAY easier said than done. Trying to convince myself not to be grumpy on a cloudy day when I WANT to be grumpy? Yeah, that’s hard work. But it’s coming along, and I’m so excited to see what March has in store!

Work

Work is good! We just had our Storybook Ball fundraising event two weeks ago, so I’m finally recovering from that. I’m in the heat of choreographing for recital, and feel like I’ll never catch up. But, I always feel that way. 🙂 Preschool is great. I had one of those “aha!” moments the other day, where you know you are exactly where you should be. I was sitting on the rug during playtime and one of the little boys brought over “Pete the Cat: I Love my White Shoes.” (FABULOUS book, even if you’re not a kid.) He wanted me to read, so I did. There’s a bit of singing involved in this book, and before I knew it, I had six kids sitting around me singing, “I love my blue shoes, I love my blue shoes…” and begging me to turn the page. I think that moment will be with me for a long time.

Theater 

I’m currently choreographing “The Drowsy Chaperone,” which I think has been my biggest challenge to date…but also, the most fun. The show is at Davenport North, April 10-12. It’s gonna be GREAT, so you should probably all be there.

Dating

Well, unlike 2014…and 2013…and 2012…I have gone on some dates! They’ve been nothing more than that, but hey! Progress is progress. I’ve also ruled out online dating completely, after giving it a second chance. It’s just not for me. And that’s ok.

Home Life

Well, I’ve learned an insane amount about plumbing in the last 2 months (clogged tub, broken toilet, jammed garbage disposal) and I’m happy to report that all situations ended well. Home ownership is a neverending learning experience. I’m not at home as much as I’d like to be right now, between work and choreographing, but I really try to savor the time I am at home…by laying on the couch, doing nothing. Stella and Charlee are good! Except for a brief encounter with scary snow, both girls are behaving themselves…most of the time.

IMG_3831 IMG_3876

List Stuff

I’m doing well! Once I get this post done, I’ll have another one coming out soon, with something new I’ve crossed off the list. My food blogging is going VERY well! I’m still hoping it will eventually lead to me writing a cookbook. Other than that, I’m working on list items when and where I can. The three year anniversary of the original LIST is coming up! 🙂

So, I have to admit that this post is coming about 4 weeks late. I went to my restaurant, I ate, and I forgot about actually writing the post, because, apparently, it doesn’t just magically appear. Who knew? So, backtrack if you will, to January 31. Since Bryan joins me on almost all my food-related adventures, I asked him and Seth to come try a new pizza place downtown with me. Now, as you all know, I am OBSESSED with pizza. Obsessed. I love it, it loves me. Mmm, pizza. So, I was really excited for our pizza outing. So excited, in fact, that I showed up way early. But, it was a really nice day for January, so I sat outside to wait for the guys.

IMG_3687

When Bryan and Seth arrived, we went inside and sat ourselves. The interior is a little industrial looking, which is unlike any QC pizza place I’ve been to. I liked it! It was warm and smelled amazing.

IMG_3688 IMG_3689 IMG_3690

The waiter (who was probably my only complaint of the experience) came over and got our drink orders. We perused the menu and I immediately found a problem…I was supposed to order something I wouldn’t normally, and I would have eaten EVERY SINGLE THING on the menu. Every. Single. Thing. So, I let Seth decide for me, because that’s something I wouldn’t normally do. When the waiter came back, Seth ordered some french fries for the table, a Feta Fetish pizza for he and Bryan to share (are you drooling yet?) and an Arizona Ranch (chicken, bacon, ranch, and hot sauce) for me. The pizzas take between 25-40 minutes with the way they bake them, so thank goodness for those french fries. I kid you not…they were the best damn fries on the planet.

IMG_3691

Yes, that’s grease all over the wax paper. Don’t judge.

Our fries were gone in a matter of minutes, so the wait seemed like forever, but finally, our pizzas arrived.

IMG_3692 IMG_3693

The pizzas were outstanding! Seth made a perfect choice for me. My pizza was spicy, but not too much, and the chicken and bacon were so delicious! I would definitely order this pizza again. I had a small piece of their pizza as well, which was topped with chicken, spinach, and feta cheese. Really good, but I wasn’t too crazy about the marinara. As far as the food went, I would definitely go back! Like I mentioned above, I wasn’t crazy about our waiter. He mumbled and was hard to understand, even standing a foot away from me. He also didn’t check on us often, so we had empty glasses a few times. The wait was also long, although we did know that upfront. When/if I go back, I would definitely get 1-2 appetizers to hold us over. The price was also decent; with tip, my pizza and soda came to $13.  Overall, I was happy with my experience, and would love to go back!

Have you been to Falbo’s before? What did you think? Do you have any recommendations on what restaurant I should try next? Let me know in the comment section below!

xoxo

Steph

Leave a Reply

