11. Do My Own Taxes. Fully. Completely.

Well friends, we’re officially two months into 2015! How are your New Year’s resolutions going? I didn’t do resolutions this year, but I did set goals and they are all going SO well! I think I mentioned in a recent post that one of my goals is to adopt a more positive mindset. One of the things I did to help that was to make myself a positive mindset jar. What’s that? Well, I took an empty glass fishbowl (I haven’t had a fish since college…literally no idea where this bowl came from…) and filled it with short notes to myself. Each morning, I take a note out of the jar, and that’s my positive thought to get my day started. I liked the idea so much that I ended up refilling the bowl, and am thinking I’ll continue for the rest of 2015. I know a lot of people in my life (myself included) have been having a rough time of this cold, awful weather, but this jar has really helped me push past the grumpies. I highly recommend to anyone who wants to give themselves a positive boost!

So, I did it. I did my taxes BY MYSELF. If we’re being completely honest here, I actually did them alone last year. My dad buys Turbo Tax and we usually do my taxes together, so last year, I waited until he was gone and did it myself…except I made a major mistake. Or I thought I did…I actually didn’t make a mistake at all. But, I didn’t want to blog about my stressful experience, so I waited and decided to give 2015 a second try. I made my dad sit with me, but I did the work again and all was well this time. Honestly, Turbo Tax makes everything so easy! Even when you have multiple W-2s, like I did this year. My sister took a few photos to document the event.

IMG_3838

Gar Bear, keeping watch

IMG_3840

Tax time, people!

And a great tax year it was! A few years ago, I was paying in, but this year, I got enough back to make some sizable payments on bills, and still get myself a cute dress and a pair of TOMs. It feels good to be able to do my taxes myself! Almost as good as this pint of ice cream I’m about to devote. Peace out, friends!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

