20. Meditate once a week, for 10 minutes, for at least six months (2 month update!)

Happy Sunday everyone! I’m spending my day the best way I know how: iced toffeenut coffee in hand, kitties laying next to me, and “How I Met Your Mother” in the background. Ok, that’s not what I’m doing ALL day…I do have to take care of the jungle that’s taken over my front yard, and I’m going to try a new Thai Chicken Quinoa Salad for dinner. But for now…it’s relax and blog time.

As I mentioned in my last post, my last dance recital was AWESOME! We got the DVDs of the show this week and I was overwhelmed by how fantastic it was! I couldn’t have been more proud. Here are a few of my favorite shots from the show:

IMG_5333

Rafiki during “Circle of Life”

IMG_5345

Rafiki, Mufasa, and Sarabi during “Circle of Life”

IMG_5414

Simba during the Stampede

IMG_5438

Scar, Sarabi, and Nala

IMG_5479

Rafiki, Simba, and Mufasa

IMG_5499

Simba takes his place as king

IMG_5508

Nala, Simba, and Rafiki during the Circle Finale

IMG_5552

The senior girls gave me flowers at the end of the show…and I cried all over everyone.

It was a fantastic way to end my time with the dance program! Also, the week of the show, my dancers surprised me with a flash mob! Yes! We were getting ready to run The Lion King during our first rehearsal of the week, and my boss turned on a different song and the girls started dancing…and then dragged me to the middle of the room and danced around me. It was incredible! Bethany, one of my senior girls (who also played Simba), organized the whole thing: she choreographed it, did all the music, set up and led the rehearsals, and arranged for three people to tape it. It was so incredibly special, and one of the best gifts I’ve ever gotten.

   flashmob9 flashmob8 flashmob7 flashmob6 flashmob5 flashmob4 flashmob3

Ok, now on to the list! So, I just finished my second month of meditation. I’ve stuck with the “Breathe” app for all of my meditating, and I am really enjoying it. I don’t know why exactly, but the woman’s voice really focuses me. Rather than doing 10 minutes in one sitting, I’ve been trying to meditate 2-3 times a week. So far, I’ve meditated for 103 minutes. I’ve found that meditating is not only helping me when I’m stressed and overthinking, but it also helps me fall asleep much faster at night. As I jump into my third month, I am trying to decide if I want to try out another app to compare the results. Does anyone else out there meditate? Any suggestions or words of wisdom? Let me know below!

Until next time,

xoxo

Leave a Reply

