20. Meditation Sensation! (3 month update)

Hello friends. Happy Monday, and happy new blog post!  I thought I’d start with something a little different today: some direction. As I’ve been settling into my new job, new office, and essentially, my new life, I’ve been thinking about what I want to be moving forward. Who I want to be. One thing I know I want to be is honest. I also know that I want to speak my mind more often. I am definitely a people pleaser, in every sense of the word. So much so, that I often keep my real, true thoughts to myself. Outside of my family, I’d say there are only a handful of people that I will speak my mind to, without fear of judgment. I don’t regret my small circle, but I do wish that I was a bit braver to share my thoughts with the world. So, starting today, I’m going to use my blog as my brave, safe space. It always has been, in a sense, but it’s generally a commentary on myself. Today, I’m going to branch out a bit. I know I might lose some readers in the process, like the people that are only here for a good story about my list, and that’s ok. The list is me, and I might as well share all of me, right? Right.

So, I’m going to start talking about something that’s been weighing heavily on me the last few weeks: “The Bachelorette.” Yes, I’m serious, and no, it’s not because Kaitlyn sent Ben Z. home. (I love you, Ben Z!) Unless you’ve been living under a rock the past two months (or you don’t watch reality tv), you know that Kaitlyn had sex with one of the guys on the show. She admitted it, worked through her feelings on it, and ultimately, told one of the other guys about it. Done and done. Right? RIGHT?! No.

Because it happened on national television, and because we live in the age of no filters, one woman’s decision has sparked some serious outrage and has brought out the worst in people: slut-shaming, death threats (yes!), and just general tearing apart of someone that, let’s face it, none of us actually know. That’s what bothers me: bad behavior. And I’m not talking about Kaitlyn. As far as I’m concerned, Kaitlyn made a brave choice. She did what felt right. Isn’t that something everyone is supposed to do in a relationship? We’re supposed to do the thing that feels right, and for Kaitlyn, it was sex. That doesn’t make her a slut, that doesn’t make her a whore, and that doesn’t make her a bad person. It just makes her a girl, who was in love, who did what felt right…and unfortunately, it was filmed, edited, and shared on tv. I’ve seen a lot of people call her a “bad role model” and to that I say: is the Bachelorette supposed to be a role model? I mean, truly…who is letting their kids watch this? Anyone? Anyone at all? Kaitlyn signed up for a chance at love, not a chance to inspire elementary schoolers.

It makes me sick to think of the messages this poor girl has received, and the things that have been said about her. Yes, it was her choice to join the show, but that’s not a valid reason to be bullied. That’s not a valid reason to be called names. That’s not a valid reason to have your character questioned. I can’t help but think if it was me that had been on the show. Dating 25 attractive guys, I’m sure I’d make mistakes too. Perhaps not that one, but I’m sure I’d find some way to mess up. I also wonder if there would be this much backlash if this had happened on “The Bachelor.” If we found out Chris Soules had been sleeping with the girls on the show, would he be called a slut too? This rant is getting long, so I want to end by saying this: I was always taught to follow the golden rule, no matter what. Regardless of how you feel about Kaitlyn, or same sex marriage, or the Confederate flag, or really anything that upsets you, do you really need to tear someone else down to make your point? Ok, I’m done now. This has just been making me upset for a few weeks now, and I needed to say it out loud…or out blog.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Ok, I promise I’m actually going to talk about the list now! Yay! I’ve just finished my third month of meditation, and I’ll admit, I wish I had the time to do it every night before bed. I sleep better when I meditate, I worry less, and I’m better able to put things in perspective. I’m also better able to focus. I feel like my brain is constantly going in a million different directions during the day, trying to accomplish one task after the next. It’s nice when I can focus solely on meditating and not what I need to do at work the next day, and which shirt I’m going to wear, and what I want to make for dinner. I did miss one week of meditation; I believe I went 8 days in between. (See what I did there? Me being honest!) But, the list is flexible and so am I. I’ll just tack on an extra week at the end…or make this a permanent addition to my routine. I’m also getting used to Stella walking on my face during my meditation time. 🙂 I’ve thought about switching up my guided meditation, but I really like it, and feel that if it’s working for me, I should continue until it’s not.

I’m halfway through now, and I’m excited to continue down my meditation sensation path. (Is it wrong that I’m giggling at how witty I am? Nah…it’s never wrong.) Please share your own meditation experiences below; I’d love to hear about them. Also, what did you think about my deep thoughts on “The Bachelorette?” Respectful comments only, please.

Until next time,

xoxoxo

2 thoughts on “20. Meditation Sensation! (3 month update)

  1. Totally agree on the Bachelorette! I don’t even watch the show, but I agree that its totally sexist to make an issue of something the Bachelors do all the time! And Cyber bullying is NOT acceptable!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

