22. Go to a New Restaurant Every 3 months: Mulkey’s

Happy August, friends! Is it bad that I am ready for fall? I’m sooooo ready for fall. You all know the drill: pumpkin spice chais, cardigans, scarves, pumpkin spice chais…it’s time. It’s going to be my first fall since 2006 that I won’t be going to dance class, though. Part of me is so crazy excited, and the other part of me is…not sure. Having my nights free is something I haven’t experienced since elementary school. I can’t wait to see my friends during the week, eat dinner at a normal time, and go to bed at 8 if I want to. But, I know I’m going to miss my dancers like crazy. I know I’ll still see them, but they were such a HUGE part of my life…it’s going to be quite a change, that’s for sure.

One thing I am looking forward to is the continuation of “Tuesday Date Night” with Bryan. For the last few summers, Bryan and I have a standing date on Tuesday nights. It’s one of my favorite things ever, and I’m always sad when we have to end them in September. But, not anymore! A few weeks ago, Bryan agreed to help me work on my list by going somewhere I hadn’t been before for dinner: Mulkey’s in Rock Island! Now, I have to admit that I did go there once: on Pi Day this year, Bryan and I scoured the QC for pie that wasn’t from Village Inn. We ended up at Mulkey’s and I got a piece of the most delicious chocolate meringue pie to go. Yum. But, I’ve never officially eaten AT Mulkey’s, so we went.

Now, I’ve got a soft spot for little diners. When I was little, my family would visit my great-grandma and we would always go out to eat at this little diner that had the best food ever. Whether it actually did or my 7 year old brain just thought it did, I’ll never know. I digress…well, not really. Mulkey’s is the cutest little diner ever.

IMG_5401 IMG_5412IMG_5403 IMG_5404

Before I had left work that day, one of my work friends had asked my plans for the evening. When I told him I was going to Mulkey’s, he laughed and said to have fun eating with all the old people…he was right. Bryan and I sat down at a booth in the back, and we were easily the youngest people there by thirty years. Our waitress came over right away to take our drink orders, and I wanted to hug her. I love waitresses at diners. They’re so nice and sweet and just take the best care of you. I perused the menu for something I wouldn’t normally order. I asked Bryan what he was getting, and he told me the turkey reuben. So, I ordered it, too. I’ve never had a reuben before. I’ve never had rye bread, sauerkraut, or Thousand Island dressing. This was a big deal.

Our cottage cheese came out first. (You can order cottage cheese at a diner! COTTAGE CHEESE!) Then, our reubens and onion rings came out. I was nervous, and asked Bryan to document the moment. (Which I immediately regretted…I am NOT cute when I eat!)

IMG_5405 IMG_5406 IMG_5407 IMG_5409

The verdict? It was amazing!!! I loved every part of it. I ate every last bite on my plate, and then ordered chocolate cream pie to go. It was a wonderful experience! Great food, excellent service, and my meal plus pie was under $12. I will definitely be going back to Mulkey’s, hopefully soon. I rounded out the night by eating my delicious pie, watching “How I Met Your Mother” with Bryan, and snuggling my bff, Foxy.

IMG_5413 IMG_5427IMG_5423

IMG_5426

I am starting to run out of ideas for new places to go in the QC, so please share below your favorite hot spots!

Until next time,

xoxo

Leave a Reply

