8. Figure out your jump start routine 3- The Prisoner of Azkaban!

Ok, ok…Sirius Black isn’t actually a part of this post, and neither is time travel. (Although I wish it was…you’ll understand why in a minute.) I just can’t resist throwing Harry Potter into pretty much anything and everything. Especially on a day like today. I am having one of those mornings that makes me want to cringe and go back to bed…but will probably make everyone else laugh. Typical. Let me preface this by saying: it was a weird weekend. I stayed home from work Friday morning with a bad headache, but sucked it up and went in for the afternoon. Turns out, my headache was (I suspect) a sinus infection so I spent all day Saturday and Sunday on the couch. This weekend was also the start of official fall weather, which would have been fantastic, except that my furnace wouldn’t start. Yes, it’s October, but having a house fluctuating between a balmy 58-60 degrees when you’re already not feeling well= not fun. Also, I’m hyper-emotional when I’m sick, so throw that into the mix, and it was a teary, cold, headache-y weekend.

My plan for today was going to be pretty simple- throw lunch in the crockpot, go through my jumpstart routine, head to a meeting downtown, and then come home to wait for the repairman to fix my furnace. Easy. But let’s face it: this is ME we’re talking about, here’s how it went down.

My alarm went off at 8:25. I responded to a quick text from one of my staff members, checked my email, and got up. I figured I could have everything in the crockpot by 9, hop in the shower, do my thing, and still have time to swing by Starbucks before my 10:00 meeting. Right? Wrong. I threw the beef into my crockpot for the stew I was making, and got the bag of carrots out of the fridge, only to discover that most of them had turned a nasty white color, like dead, flaky skin. Ew. “No problem,” I thought, and quickly sifted through the bag of carrots to save all the good ones. I threw them in the crockpot, and turned my attention to the onions and carrots. Now, I pride myself on the fact that onions rarely make me cry. They just don’t. But today was the perfect stew storm, so with water streaming out of my eyes and my vision clouded, I chopped up the onions and started in on the potatoes. As I finished peeling each potato, I rinsed the peels into the garbage disposal, and ran it. No problem…until, of course, the last potato. That’s when my garbage disposal decided to jam and send all the potato peels and water back up into my sink. I looked at the clock…8:55. I needed to mix up the sauce for the stew, but I figured I could quickly take apart the piping under my sink, clear out the clog, and have it all back together with plenty of time to spare. After all, this was not my first time taking apart all the pipes under my sink..I’ve got skills. 🙂 So, I did just that. Sauce in the crockpot, cleared out under the sink, put a bucket under the pipes, and started to unscrew the piping. Only, the screws wouldn’t budge. Apparently, I’m too strong for my own good and really, seriously tightened the bolts last time. Oops. I worked at that for a few minutes, and finally got both ends loosened. I removed the plastic pipe and…seriously underestimated the amount of crap stuck inside. Potato peels and murky water went into the bucket, the bottom of the cabinet, all over my lap, and onto the floor. I went into Sonic the Hedgehog mode, and began clearing out the rest of the pipe, wiping up the water, and picking potato chunks out of my sweatpants. I cleaned everything up in record time, but it was 9:20 and I still needed to reattach the pipe, shower, and get myself downtown, which is easily a 15 minute drive. I pulled out my phone and texted my friend, Caroline, that I would be missing the meeting, and then turned my attention to the pipe. It took 10 minutes to reattach it. TEN. Everytime I would think I had the bolts lined up, one would go in, and the other wouldn’t. I’ll spare you the details…TEN MINUTES. At this point, it was 9:30 and I had a crazy thought: maybe I can shower and get to the meeting after all. Umm, what?! If you all remember last week, it took me 29 minutes to get ready…and I wasn’t covered in smelly potato peels. But, I decided to give it a shot.

IMG_6372

This picture was from the night before…but roughly, what I looked like prior to the start of my routine.

IMG_6373

Under the sink fun…ugh

Now, I was moving at crazy speeds, and probably not thinking rationally, so I didn’t set my timer. But, it was 9:31 when I started upstairs. I picked out some clothes, ran to the bathroom, brushed my teeth as I undressed and got out towels, and then took the fastest shower of my life. I dried off, went through every step of the routine, dried my hair, did my makeup, and even had time to run a straightener through the top layer of my hair. I unplugged it, put on my TOMS, put on my coat, and was out the door by…9:51. I really have no idea how I did it…

IMG_6374

The official end time, as I was literally walking out the door

IMG_6377

I snapped a quick picture of myself, just to prove that I didn’t make all this up

I will admit that I added some lip color and fluffed my hair a bit on the way to my meeting, but I made it there by 10:05. Phew! I was really impressed with myself, and celebrated with a coffee and spinach and bacon souffle, post meeting.

IMG_6381

Much calmer, post meeting!

I’ve got one more week of the challenge, and next week will be the tough one…curling my hair! Eep! Wish me luck on that one…I’ll probably need it. I hope you all have a wonderful week! Even though mine was off to a crazy start, I think it will only go up from here.

Until next time,

xoxo

Leave a Reply

