8. Figure out your 30 minute jump start routine- The 4th and final installment!

Guess what?! I am the proud new owner of a bouncing baby…furnace. Yup, that’s right. My furnace went out. (Insert a collective homeowner groan here.) I knew this was probably going to happen when I bought my house. The furnace was 16 years old at that point. Last year, I narrowly escaped replacement. When I turned it on for the first time in the fall, it started up…and then clunked. Literally. I went downstairs and shook the door a little bit (which is clearly, the solution to all problems) and it started up. That was lucky. But also, it worked, so when the same thing happened last weekend, I shook that door for a good 20 minutes. I took the door off. I put it back on. Nothing. So, one very chilly weekend, a $75 service call, and a furnace estimate meeting with an adorable old man named Woody later, I got my new furnace. I feel like I need to name it or something. It’s all shiny and new…and expensive. Seriously, send your name suggestions my way.

So, for those of you keeping track, today was the final day of my “30 minute jump start routine” challenge-curly hair day. It was a good day for it too. I had an enrollment interview with Big Brothers/Big Sisters (I’m hoping to volunteer in their school-based program) so I wanted to look nice. And clearly, I needed all the help I could get…

IMG_6451

I forgot to take a picture before my time started…so multi-tasking it was!

Now…I didn’t make my time…but I was really close!

IMG_6452

Now, I hate to point fingers, but…there was a spider in my shower. Of course, I didn’t notice it until after I’d started the water, and my bathtub drains really slowly so I was dodging the dead, floaty spider during my entire shower. (Let that sink in…it’s always a comedy show around here.) So, I’m sure that added a little time. But, even though I was over my time, I’m still proud of my effort. And I looked cute too!

IMG_6454

I learned a lot from this experience. (That Ria. She always knows!) One, if I don’t let anything distract me, I can get ready REALLY fast! Now, if only I moved that fast on work days… Two, I really don’t love selfies…see?

IMG_6453

Three, it doesn’t take a whole lot to make me feel good about my appearance! I’ve gotten my routine down to a T, and I’ve got options. I love that. 🙂

Well, I can officially cross this off my list! Yay! I’ll be crossing another off my list next Monday…well, technically, on Thursday. Thursday marks 6 months of meditation! Woo! I’m excited to fill you in on how it’s going, and how it’s changed things for me. Look out for that post next week!

Until next time,

xoxo

4 thoughts on “8. Figure out your 30 minute jump start routine- The 4th and final installment!

Leave a Reply

