20. Meditate once a week, for 10 minutes, for at least 6 months.

Happy Monday, friends! I am coming off of a relaxing weekend that I very much needed. My sister, Mal, and I had an adventure day Saturday, which included me hardcore geeking out at the Field of Dreams. I saw some great theatre at Davenport North yesterday, and now, I’m snuggled under a blanket with the windows open and a pumpkin iced coffee at my side. Happy sigh.

FullSizeRender (77)

Before I jump into my list, I have a quick story to share. When I was a junior in college, I took a directing class. I wasn’t sure I’d ever actually direct, but I figured it would be good experience. In a nutshell, it was one of the biggest challenges I’ve ever faced and pushed me in so many ways. I’m a more organized person because of that class and my amazing professor, Cory, who I respect more than I can put into words. (She’s the best. Seriously. The woman is a genius.) Anyway, one distinct memory I have from that class was an assignment for our final project, which was directing a one act play. We were supposed to break our script into “beats,” which is basically any time the mood or tone of the script shifts. I remember working hastily away on my script, late into the night. At some point, I talked to my friend, Seth, who is another amazing human being, and one of the most talented people I know, and he asked how my beats were going. Then he asked how many I had. Now, I don’t remember the exact numbers, because this WAS 8 years ago, but I remember I was well over 100…and I wasn’t done. Seth had about 20 total, I think. In that moment, I was pretty sure I was going to die from being way too thorough. And Seth thought so too. I remember thinking then, and many other times throughout the rest of the semester, that I wasn’t cut out to be a director. I could choreograph. I could act. I could stage manage. With direction, I could build things…although maybe not well. But directing? Not my cup of tea…

…Which is funny, because this afternoon, I will be attending my first rehearsal ever as a DIRECTOR. I am directing a production of “Charlotte’s Web” for Davenport North, and although I am so nervous, I am even more excited. I’ve secretly been wanting to do this for years, and now I finally am. Wish me luck- here’s hoping I don’t get caught up in the beats. πŸ™‚

So…I’m officially on a roll with my list! In 7 days, I’ve crossed two things off! Yay! Thursday marked the 6 month mark of my meditation experience and here’s what I have to share:

  1. I have never been a “good” sleeper. I can’t lay down and be asleep within a matter of minutes…usually more like an hour or two. But when I meditate, and really focus on what I’m doing, I’m asleep in less than 30 minutes. Every time.
  2. I am an overthinker in every sense of the word, which is probably why I’m not a good sleeper. πŸ™‚ When I meditate, I can tune my brain in to what I’m doing and shut everything else out. This is a skill that I KNOW I’ll use for the rest of my life.
  3. I look forward to meditating. I like having that few minutes, just for me. I like making that separation between the rest of my day, and bedtime. I will definitely continue to meditate, as long as it works for me.
  4. Meditating has also made me more honest. With the app that I use, I am forced to focus on how I’m feeling and what it’s doing to the rest of my body. It also makes me think about what is causing those emotions, and how I can handle them.
  5. The app that I use, “Breathe,” tracks all of your meditations by date and how you were feeling mentally and physically on those days. It has been really neat to watch my progress and see that I’ve become much more positive over the last few months. Stepping away from dance, while a difficult decision, has shown a steady increase in my physical wellness. I believe it has also helped my mental well-being too! I’ve been working on a more positive mindset in 2015, and it’s been so great to have a record of that progress, to help keep me motivated.

To be honest, when I saw this item on my list, I was a little skeptical. Meditation seemed a little “weird” to me, and I wasn’t sure that it was something I needed. But, it really was. I feel stronger, physically, mentally, and emotionally, since I started. I’m more in tune with myself, and my thoughts and feelings. If you’ve ever thought about meditating, I can’t say enough good things about it! Give it a try! You never know; it may help you in ways you never thought you needed.

Well, I’m off to enjoy this nice weather! I hope you can too.

Until next time,

xoxo

2 thoughts on “20. Meditate once a week, for 10 minutes, for at least 6 months.

Leave a Reply

