The One with Love

I was walking to my car on Saturday night after work, and I looked up at the sky. The moon was shining, and I thought to myself how beautiful it was. A second later, that feeling of gratitude was replaced with a sinking feeling; while I had spent my day going through Big Brothers/Big Sisters orientation, and playing with kids at work, and eating cheese curds, and buying cat socks (I really did- two pairs!), others spent their day differently. Other people were looking at the moon after having loved ones taken away from them. Other people were looking at the moon after surviving bombs, guns, and other unspeakable violence. Other people were looking at the moon after suffering natural disaster. And me? I had my cat socks.

It seems there’s been a lot of anger in the world lately, and I’ll admit, it’s gotten to me too. I get frustrated when I see people complaining about the Starbucks holiday cup. I get upset when Donald Trump makes yet another derogatory comment towards any number of demographics. I feel sick when I see that racism is still so prevalent in the year 2015. I don’t understand the need to shame others, to make you “pick a side,” to make people feel “less than” to simply prove a point. I don’t understand why people feel the need to make everything so black and white, when in reality, there are so many shades of gray. (Fifty, so I’ve heard.) Honestly and truly, I think you can support “Black Lives Matter” and “Blue Lives Matter” without having to explain yourself. I think in this day and age, everyone should have the same basic human rights. I think you can be pro-choice, and not personally want an abortion. You can mourn for Paris, and Beirut, and Japan, and change your profile picture for all I care. At the end of the day, a cup is just a cup, and hate is just hate. Why are we choosing to hate? Why are we choosing fear? Why are we letting ourselves get caught up in all of these things? A cup is just a cup, and hate is just hate.

On Saturday, as I was staring up at the moon, an eternity passed. “How do we get passed this?” I thought. “How do we move forward from yet another terrorist attack, another bombing, another shooting, another tragedy? How do we get past all this hate?” Love. Love is, and always will be, the answer. Now, I know I may be naive, but I truly, wholeheartedly believe that everyone has the capacity to love. So, why aren’t we? Why aren’t we loving as much as we can, as loudly as we can? Why do we insist on putting others down? Do we really think that spreading hate will help anything?

I’d like to make a promise. I promise that this blog, this space, my little corner of the Internet, will always be a place of love. A place of hope. A place of giggles, and a place of peace. Everyone is welcome here, and everyone will be accepted. It may not make a difference in the world. It may not change a thing. But, it could start a revolution. Even a small stone can create a ripple.

Today, and every day, I choose love. I hope you will too. I hope you will choose to share love in the world. After all, a cup is just a cup, and hate is just hate…but love? Love is all we need.

2 thoughts on “The One with Love

Leave a Reply

