22. Go to a new restaurant every 3 months: Cool Beanz Coffeehouse

HELLO FRIENDS! It’s been a long two months, but I am back! What have I been doing and what have I been up to? Here’s a (semi) quick update before I jump in to the list…

  1. I directed a show! As I mentioned before my hiatus, I got the opportunity to direct “Charlotte’s Web” at Davenport North. It was a WONDERFUL experience- I spent 7 weeks in the theater, got to work with some amazing kids, and learned so much. I’m on a short break now, but will start choreographing not one, but TWO musicals in January! More details soon. 🙂

2.  I got to spend two wonderful holidays with my family! Though both trips were fast, it was so nice to have time with everyone…and also to slow down for a bit, and do a whole lot of nothing.

3. I’ve gotten to do some awesome things at the Museum! I’m in the process of getting some (much needed) new volunteer software, ordering 13 costumes for our exhibit gallery for my staff to wear, working a ton of fun events, and coming up with new ideas I want to try, left and right. I’m really getting into my groove with my job, and am having a lot of fun!

IMG_7023

Working at the Holiday Jammie Jam with Caroline

4. I was accepted into Hogwarts! Try to remain calm.

 

And…that’s been the last 8 weeks! You’re all caught up- yay!

So, I actually visited my “new restaurant” in October, but in true Steph fashion, you’re hearing about it now. Oh well. I wanted to finish blocking my show, and needed a quiet place to do it. I’d been wanting to try Cool Beanz for years, but it’s on the other side of the river, so I’m not over there much. I decided to make a special trip that day, just to try it out. It was a cold rainy Monday, so it was a perfect coffee day. I got to Cool Beanz a little after 10am. I was running to get out of the rain, but I stopped to take a few pictures.

It was SO cute, and very cozy! There were quite a few people there, but only one person in line. I was glad I had looked at the menu ahead of time- it takes me forever to decide! When it was my turn, I ordered an iced “Quad”- a latte with butterscotch, chocolate, vanilla, and cherry. I asked the barista about it, and he said people either loved it or hated it. That made me nervous, but I went ahead with my order and got a chocolate muffin too. I don’t remember exactly how much I paid, but I do remember that it was in line with Starbucks. I found a table right by the cash register, and waited while they made my drink and warmed up the muffin. They were really fast, and brought both to my table.

IMG_6582

The muffin was DIVINE. Seriously…I ate it in three bites. No shame. My drink was good, but not something I’d order again. My coffee taste has shifted a lot in the last year, and I prefer drinks that aren’t quite as sweet. But, I’d definitely like to go back and try something else. The service was great, the environment was warm and friendly, and although it was busy, I was able to focus and get a crap ton of blocking done! Yay for me!

Since this post was so late, I’m going to do another new restaurant soon. Be on the lookout for that, as well as more regular posts! I’ve been working on my goals for 2016 and they all center around self-care and happiness. Blogging makes me happy, so I’m planning to do a lot more of it…and also, I’ve got less than 15 months left to finish my list and I’ve got a LONG way to go…

Until next time,

xoxo

Leave a Reply

