6. Figure out your regrets from the past ten years and either fix it or throw it away.

Happy March 8th, friends! I’d apologize for my 4 week hiatus, but honestly: are you surprised? Nope. And seriously, you didn’t miss much. Here’s what I’ve been up to:

  1. Work: A year ago, I joined our brand-new Fundraising Committee, because it sounded like fun…you know, because fun is in the name. (See what I did there? Hilarious.) After a year of hard work, we had our fundraiser, The Kids’ Table, this past Saturday, so my life has been…that. The low down: we had several local restaurants, breweries, and dessert places set up stations throughout our Museum and hand out samples of their signature dishes. We had a local band, several life-sized games, a Zoltar booth, a DUCK POND, and a silent auction. It was so awesome!

I didn’t take any pictures, except for the table one…so I stole these from Mal and Caroline. Thanks Mal and Caroline!

2. I’m doing SO many theatre things…so many. See below! 🙂

3. When I’m not doing work or theatre, I’m doing my best to honor “the year of Steph.” I’ve been trying new recipes, reading, napping, spending time with my friends, napping, and working on my goals for the year. I’m also tackling my health, which started with a trip to my physician yesterday. I’ve been super bloaty for the past few months after I eat, and haven’t been able to pinpoint the cause, so to the doctor I went. She narrowed it down to either dairy or gluten intolerance (a giant UGH to both!) so for the next two weeks, I’m on a dairy-free diet, with a week after of slow reintroduction. The next week, I do the same with gluten. Please send happy thoughts my way- the thought of no cheese for the next 13 days is making me a sad panda. But, I’m excited to get some answers and to have a new adventure.

So…I’ve actually been struggling with this list item; not because it’s hard, but because it’s really not. As cliche as it sounds, I really try not to have regrets.  Sure, my choice in boys in high school wasn’t great, and yes, I’ve said some stupid crap, but who hasn’t?! If I hadn’t dated a stupid boy and I did have the good sense to keep my mouth shut, I wouldn’t be the Steph I am now, and she’s a pretty bitchin’ lady. So instead of regrets and how I’m fixing them/throwing them away, I looked at this as “things I had the ability to change, and how I chose to change them.” I have three…here they are.

  1. I’ve had a lot of people in my life tell me that theatre wasn’t a feasible career option- I’d never make money, I’d never find something stable, I’d never be successful. And I listened…oh boy, did I listen, and even worse- I believed it. A few years ago, after choreographing for St. Ambrose, I realized that theatre was, and always has been, my true love. I told myself that if I ever changed jobs, I’d make theatre a priority in my life, and now I have, in a big way. Not only did I direct my first play this fall, I am currently choreographing TWO musicals, and at the end of the month, I’m doing a staged reading for a local theatre company. Yes, I might be busy, but I’m happy. So happy-and so glad that I let myself choose that happiness.
  2. I’d like to think that I’ve always been a nice person. I try my best to treat everyone with respect, even when I haven’t had my coffee, and do focus on the positives. But along with that, I don’t like confrontation, and I don’t like rocking the boat. So, for years, I’ve let people walk all over me. I’ve let people treat me like crap. I’ve let people be mean and rude. And each time it happens, I’d let myself believe that it was really me- I was  being too sensitive, I was too emotional, I was overthinking. But…was I? This year, I’ve decided enough is enough. It’s the Year of Steph, and in the Year of Steph, I’m taking the high road and I’m choosing myself. I can’t change other people, but I can change me. So, instead of letting a few people get me down, I’m going to constantly remind myself what a badass, independent, crazy talented woman I am. Is it going to take overnight? Nope. But it’s worth the journey. I’m still nice, but now, I’m going to be nice to me.
  3. I’ve never been particularly good with money…I had some BAD spending habits in college, and unfortunately, I’m still paying for that today. In the last year, I’ve made some adjustments to my finances to help me on my way to becoming debt-free. In about two weeks, I’ll be hitting a major milestone- I’ll have paid off my student loans in their entirety. What felt impossible even 18 months ago is finally happening, and with that, I know I’ll be able to make smarter choices with my finances moving forward.

So there you go…not regrets, per say, but things I wanted to change…and I’m working on them all. Will I always make good choices with my money, always be nice to myself, and always choose theatre happiness? Probably not. But I’m truly excited to continue working on these. One of my mottos for this year is “Adventure Awaits” and working on these three things is going to be a pretty great adventure…and one more thing crossed off my list. 🙂

Until next time,

xoxo

One thought on “6. Figure out your regrets from the past ten years and either fix it or throw it away.

  1. Pingback: The One with the Final Stretch | The One with the Thirty Things

Leave a Reply

