22. Go to a new restaurant every 3 months: Greatest Grains

Happy Monday, everyone! I hope your week is off to an awesome start- how could it not be, with this PHENOMENAL weather we’re having?! I have a day of mowing, mulching, planting, and park-walking planned. Exciting. 🙂 I’ve gotta say- this weekend has been pretty great! I saw a show, had lots of kitty snuggles, caught up on my TV shows, ran some errands, bought tickets to “Book of Mormon,” researched children’s shows for this winter, FaceTimed with Danielle, and started planning my 30th birthday trip. (Yes, it’s 11 months away. No, that won’t stop me.) All in all, a pretty awesome weekend! Also…the coolest thing happened to me on Saturday night. I had gone to see “Noises Off” at St. Ambrose with my friend, Leslie, and some of the North kids. After the show, I was talking to one of the kids in the lobby when a couple approached us. They apologized for interrupting and then said, “We just had to tell you- we saw you a few weeks ago in…” At this point, I assumed they were talking to Nik about his performance in “Kiss Me Kate,” because he was fantastic! But no. They weren’t.

“…That Anton Chekhov play…oh, what’s it called? That staged reading?”

“The Cherry Orchard?”

“Yes- YES! You played Anya? We just had to tell you…you were fantastic!”

Now, at this point, I could only assume I was being punked. If you read my last blog post, you know that I was really nervous about the staged reading, and that I would have given a better performance if I had just calmed down. If you didn’t read my last blog post, well, that’s basically what you need to know. I digress. Anyway, this couple proceeded to talk to me for 15-20 minutes about how impressed with me they were- that I barely used my script during the reading, how much they enjoyed my character, what commitment I gave to the whole performance. It was surreal. I thanked them a million times, and the compliments just continued. They wanted to know what I do (they LOVED the Family Museum when their kids were little), what sort of theatre things I’m involved in, what projects I have coming up. It turns out their daughter was also in the staged reading, and they are very into the theatre culture of the QC. It was awesome! Guys…I think I have fans! It was SO cool. I’m still geeking out…

Ok, ok…time for food! Now, if you’re a QC native, you’re probably wondering how on earth I’ve lived in Davenport for 10 1/2 years and have never been to Greatest Grains. I was actually wondering that myself. Greatest Grains is a little organic health market, with a cafe in the back. It’s down the block from St. Ambrose, and up the street from me. (Really, I have no excuse to have not gone.) Anyway, the Monday after “Kiss Me Kate” wrapped, I ended up there for lunch, via a friend’s suggestion. It was during my two weeks of no gluten, and it seemed like a good place to go.

Now, you should also know that I have never eaten a meal by myself, out in public. Coffee, yes, but food? No. Probably because I’m afraid something will go down like in “Friends” when Rachel’s prospective boyfriend sees her out alone and assumes she’s a freak. (Yes, I do make decisions based on how they worked out for my favorite TV characters.) That coupled with the fact that I can’t make a decision to save my life, led to me sitting in a booth for 20 minutes, staring at the menu. Finally, I got up and just asked the girl behind the counter for help. (By word- vomiting about my present gluten-less situation, and how I’d never been there before, and JUST HELP ME PLEASE!) The girl behind the counter was very nice and suggested a gluten free wrap. Now, per Ria’s instructions, I’m supposed to order something I wouldn’t normally, and this qualified for two reasons: 1. I love gluten and this didn’t have any. 2. I don’t really like cold sandwiches/wraps. So, I went with it. She talked me through the whole process- what I could add, her recommendations, etc. So, I ended up with a spicy chicken and pepperoni gluten free wrap, with herb aioli, white cheddar cheese, smashed avocado, greens, and cucumbers.

Now, my wrap doesn’t look terribly impressive, but OH MY GOSH, it was delicious! It was the first gluten- free meal I’d had where I didn’t feel sad the whole time about what I was missing out on. I sat in my booth, enjoyed my lunch, people-watched, and listened to the traffic on Harrison Street. It was pretty great! Although I was essentially eating in a grocery store, I was impressed with how quiet it was. A few people came and went while I was eating, but it was a nice, calm break from the busyness outside.  When I finished my wrap and water, I wandered down the gluten-free aisle, just to get a sense of what they had, in case I did need to go gluten free. I ended up with a bag of brown rice penne and proceeded to the checkout. My wrap and the penne cost just over $10. I was actually pretty impressed, considering that many places have an upcharge for gluten-free anything. I haven’t been back to Greatest Grains yet, but I fully intend to go again soon. It was so delicious, and made my gluten- free diet much easier to deal with. In fact, it inspired me to try making my own version of the wrap at home!

IMG_7939

My attempt wasn’t as awesome as theirs, but it was still pretty good! I’m excited to go back to Greatest Grains again soon, and pretty proud of myself for eating lunch alone. 🙂

Well, I better get on with my day. But before I do, I have 3 more “new to me” places I need to visit before my 30th birthday. Please comment below with suggestions- I am open to ANYTHING!

Until next time,

xoxo

One thought on “22. Go to a new restaurant every 3 months: Greatest Grains

  1. Such a yummy place! Can’t wait to try it with you 🙂 Proud of you girlie!

    On Mon, Apr 18, 2016 at 12:44 PM, The One with the Thirty Things wrote:

    > stephdelacy posted: “Happy Monday, everyone! I hope your week is off to an > awesome start- how could it not be, with this PHENOMENAL weather we’re > having?! I have a day of mowing, mulching, planting, and park-walking > planned. Exciting. 🙂 I’ve gotta say- this weekend has been ” >

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

