5. On April 19th, every year- go outside and count the stars! (The 3rd and final round!)

Happy Monday- again! I can’t believe it, but I’m in the final stretch of Mondays being a part of my weekend. Starting in June, I’m back to a Monday-Friday work week for the summer. I am insanely excited! While I’ve actually come to like having Mondays off (no lines at Target!), I’m really looking forward to a normal weekend again. I can’t wait. 🙂

This past weekend was a big step for me- I actually did something spontaneous! Well, spontaneous for me, anyway. Mal and I decided to take a trip to Des Moines to see “The Book of Mormon.” Now, generally if I’m planning out a day trip, I do so several weeks in advance- it keeps me organized, gives me time to save a little money if needed, and it keeps me from being stressed out. Anyway, Mal and I made plans about three weeks ago, which is a big deal for us, and the trip went off without a hitch. Despite being hit with some kind of stomach bug Saturday morning, I slept all day and drove to Mal’s Saturday night. We drove to Des Moines yesterday morning for the show- it was AWESOME! I had such a fun time! We had a quick dinner down the street at SpaghettiWorks, then headed home. It was a relaxing day, and such a good way to start the weekend.

The same week we made our trip plans was also April 19th, my third and final star gazing event. If you’ve been around long enough to read about my past two star-gazing endeavors, you know that there have been lots of clouds, a little rain, and very few stars. Since this was my very last one, I was hoping for some kind of cosmic miracle, but the forecast leading up to the big day wasn’t looking good. Even so, I made plans with Bryan and Seth for dinner, ice cream, and stars.

After making tortilla pizzas and making a pit stop at Whitey’s, we drove to what I’ve deemed as mine and Ria’s “spot.” It’s a small park overlooking the Mississippi, and it’s one of my favorite places in the QC. Ria and I used to go there all the time to sit and talk, or drink coffee, or eat Panchero’s. I’ve even FaceTimed her from that spot. Anyway, the guys and I picked a bench, settled in, and looked up. No stars. Again. Thankfully, the clouds started to shift, and three sets of eyes are better than one, so in no time at all, we did discover a couple stars. Either that, or the fact that I was not dressed for the 50 degree weather while eating ice cream, made me hallucinate stars. Who knows? Side note- it’s really, really hard to get pictures of stars!

Anyway, our final count for the evening was 7 stars. Not too bad at all! I had a ton of fun, and it was a great experience to include other people in my star gazing, since I’ve done it by myself the other two times. I’m really excited to have crossed another item off my list- this officially puts me at 11 things done, and 4 things that I’ve started, but not yet finished. And, of course 15 things that I have less than 11 months to complete- eek!!! What list item would you like to see me tackle next? See the complete list here! Ok, well I’d better go shower and be a productive human being now.

Until next time,

xoxo

 

One thought on “5. On April 19th, every year- go outside and count the stars! (The 3rd and final round!)

  1. Love this! Stars are the best 🙂

    On Mon, May 9, 2016 at 1:34 PM, The One with the Thirty Things wrote:

    > stephdelacy posted: “Happy Monday- again! I can’t believe it, but I’m in > the final stretch of Mondays being a part of my weekend. Starting in June, > I’m back to a Monday-Friday work week for the summer. I am insanely > excited! While I’ve actually come to like having Mondays off” >

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

