The One with All the Poop

Hey guys…yes, you did read that correctly. Poop. This is the story of the shitstorm that has been the past two months of my life. Well, shitstorm might be too strong a term, although there has been flying poop in my house, and lots of it. I should maybe probably clarify that it’s not my poop. One more time for the people in the back- NOT MY POOP.

So, when I last left you, I was lamenting the single life and had completed my final scream. I was also wrapping up my first year as volunteer coordinator, doing an obscene amount of painting, and more than a little stressed over the season finale of “Once Upon a Time.” Life was good. The very next day, however, I woke up to Charlee peeing on me. Yes, you read that correctly- again. I took C in to our lovely vet, where she was diagnosed with a UTI and constipation. A dose of antibiotics and an addition of Miralax to her diet were all we needed. Good- easy-done. Fast forward a week and a half later…I came home from work to a pee-soaked basket of laundry…and more poop. One more round of antibiotics later, C was on the road to recovery…and I was trying to recover from my “pee PTSD.” Once you’ve been peed on, you’re a changed person… Anyway, the potty problems were resolved, but the poop ones were not. In fact, it’s been two months and I am still cleaning up poop at least once a day. The good news- Charlee is perfectly healthy, other than being a little on the pudgy side, and a little constipated. The bad news- it’s trial and error at this point. C is getting Miralax once a day, an oral laxative every other day, and increased water. (Who knew that cats were so high-maintenance?!) As for me…C being sick for so long has definitely taken it’s toll. I am exhausted and quite literally, a giant ball of stress. We’ve been to the vet six times, so I am also poor. Ugh. I feel like I’ve been on an emotional rollercoaster- I’m worried, then sad, then happy, then defeated, then happy…it’s been a lot. If a genie could grant me three wishes right now, I’d want Charlee to not be constipated, a week long nap, and Joseph-Gordon Levitt to be single again, in that order.

In all seriousness, I’ve been a wreck, and every area of my life, other than work, has gotten a little neglected. I do see a light at the end of the tunnel, and I am so grateful for that, but can I ask one thing of all of you? You’ve all read about me at my highest of highs and lowest of lows. You’ve been there for the bugs, dinosaurs, laughs, and now, the poop. Can I ask each of you to take a moment, and either say a prayer or send Charlee some good vibes? I know both she and I would appreciate it so much- she would rather not have anyone’s hand up her butt and I’d rather not have to pay the bill for having a hand up her butt. 🙂 Thank you all so much in advance- I love you all and am so lucky for the mass support system I have through this blog. You all are the best!

Before I go, a quick update…since my mind has obviously been elsewhere, the list hasn’t been getting a lot of love lately. BUT, that changes today. I started a little work on some things, and will be reporting back soon. Here’s to some positive list strides, getting a good night’s sleep, and a little less poop in everyone’s life.

Until next time,

xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

