30. Take a class

Hi friends- happy Saturday! I’m so glad to be back on the blog, and no apologies this time- there was no possible way I could have written last month. August was INSANE, in the best way. Work was busy, since I was prepping for one staff leaving and the next arriving, the annual volunteer recognition, two special events, and my regular day-to-day. I had auditions for both “Peter Pan” (which I’m directing) and “Pegora the Witch” (which I’m choreographing) this week, so I’ve been eagerly getting ready for that. (The list-making and three-hole punching has been at an all time high.) I had visits from friends and family, including having 15 out of 20 DeLacys in my house at one time. And somewhere in there, I spent some much needed time loving on myself and relaxing.Thankfully, the crazy has subsided, so I’m spending a rare night in with an enormous bowl of spaghetti, the windows open, my pumpkin candles burning, and Scandal re-runs going in the background. Ah, my happy place.

I think most of you know this, but I joined Big Brothers/Big Sisters last fall. I was missing having students, had a lot more free time, and knew it was something I’d love doing. I got set up with my Little in December. Her name is Kamorah, and she is the coolest, sweetest, most loving little 9 year old I know. We’re matched through the school-based program, so during the school year, I eat lunch with her once a week. We talk, play Candyland, write in our “buddy journal,” color, and laugh. We laugh a lot. 🙂 I was so sad when the end of the school year rolled around, because that meant no more weekly lunches. Thankfully, we’re also allowed to go to BB/BS match activities, so we did two over the summer. We went to a painting studio one night, and a few weeks ago, we went to Hy-Vee and took a cooking class. I have been wanting to do one FOREVER, and when I mentioned it to Kamorah, she was just as giddy as I was. So, to cooking class we went.

When we arrived at Hy-Vee, they had us set up to cook in the Market Cafe. The table was set up with food, our recipes, all the cookware we would need, and aprons for the Littles. Once everyone arrived, their nutritionist walked us through the recipes one at a time, and had us work at our own pace. Even with my cooking background, I learned a lot, the biggest thing being to have patience when cooking with a nine year old. 🙂 Kamorah did really well though. It took about an hour and a half to complete our three recipes, and it was a BLAST! She had me do anything that required using a knife, but I did talk her into doing some of the cuts in the zucchini. Check out what we made!

IMG_0942

Getting ready…

IMG_0943

Greek Yogurt Chicken Salad! We loved it.

IMG_0945

Garlic-Parmesan Hasselback Zucchini and Squash. Kamorah was a little skeptical on this one, but we both really liked it! I’ve made it twice at home already.

IMG_0947

Monster Cookie Protein Balls. Yes. I ate these for breakfast the next day. #noshame

Kamorah and I were in agreement that everything was really good, although we both liked the Monster Cookie Protein Balls best. She insisted I take a bag of them home, but I sent everything else home with her so she could show her family what we made. We decided this was our favorite thing that we’ve done together, and hope that they’ll do another cooking class again soon.

This isn’t the end of my class-taking. Starting this Wednesday, I’m going to be taking a leadership class for work twice a month. I’m excited/nervous for that, and I’m sure you’ll be hearing a lot about it. Yay for learning…and crossing another item off my list! I’ve got two more blog posts coming your way soon…stay tuned.

Well, I think it’s time for a bubble bath and bed, so until next time…

xoxo

 

One thought on “30. Take a class

  1. Love this!! How fun!

    On Sat, Sep 3, 2016 at 9:38 PM, The One with the Thirty Things wrote:

    > stephdelacy posted: “Hi friends- happy Saturday! I’m so glad to be back on > the blog, and no apologies this time- there was no possible way I could > have written last month. August was INSANE, in the best way. Work was busy, > since I was prepping for one staff leaving and the ne” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

